Follow us on Facebook
It's Your Life
Follow us on Twitter


Bucklands offers High Level Care Bucklands offers Extra Service Bucklands offers Dementia Care Bucklands offers Respite Care

333 Marion Road, North Plympton SA 5037

West Torrens Council and Local Government Area (LGA)

Bucklands is a 147 bed high care facility, which was built around a stately home with lovely gardens that include significant trees over 100 years old, bunya pines and moreton bay fig trees.

The facility offers residents accommodation of single rooms with private en-suite. Other features of this facility include respite rooms, extra services, lifestyle activities, memory support unit, hair dresser, secure garden, beauty therapy, chapel, couples accommodation and cafe/kiosk.

Lifestyle services offer a range of activities, outings, concerts and clubs, such as a book club, armchair travel club and men's shed. The kiosk is open weekdays, which can be enjoyed by family and staff. The clinical arena has many skilled clinicians to cater for the complex care needs of all residents, meeting highly specialized requirements.

About Residential Aged Care

In the past, a distinction was drawn between aged care homes that offered "high level care" (which were commonly known as "nursing homes") and those that offered "low level care" (which were commonly known as "hostels"). From 1 July 2014 this distinction has ceased to apply in relation to permanent residential aged care, although it does continue to apply in relation to temporary respite care. Aged care homes can incorporate "extra service", which provides a higher standard of accommodation and services (such as meals) for an additional fee. Aged care homes that are not accredited, but which offer similar care and services, may be referred to as "Supported Living". See our Terminology page for detailed explanations of terms that relate to aged care, home care and retirement villages.

More Information?

Please see our Aged Care Guide for further important information about aged care and aged care homes. It includes the following:

  1. Introduction

  2. Eligibility and Assessment

  3. Fees and Charges

  4. Accreditation Standards and Compliance

  5. Resident Rights and Responsibilities

  6. Residential Respite Care

  7. Advocacy and Complaint Resolution